Researcher's Profile

Yong-Kwang Tu (杜永光)

     ORCID Follow

Research Outline      2015-12-07 11:59:56

Dr. Tu completed his medical education at the Medical School of the National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan in 1976. He completed his neurosurgical resident training at the same university in 1981 and obtained his Ph.D. degree at the Institute of Clinical Science, National Taiwan University in 1984.

He joined the Taiwanese Medical Mission to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and served as the Chief of Neurosurgery at the King Fahd General Hospital in Jeddah for one year. He then spent four years as a research fellow in neurosurgery of Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. In his last year in Boston, he served as a lecturer in surgery at Harvard Medical School. Since returning to Taiwan, he has been on the staff of the Department of Neurosurgery at National Taiwan University, and has become Professor and Chairman of the Department since 1998. He was appointed as the Deputy Director of Institute of Clinical Neuroscience and Behavioral Medicine of the National Taiwan University since 2011.

His major clinical and research interests are the physiology of cerebral haemodynamics and metabolism, cerebral protection, cerebrovascular surgery, skull base surgery and neurosurgical intensive care. He is the author of over 150 publications and has organized many national and international conferences. He is a member of the American Academy of Neurological Surgery and of the World Academy of Neurological Surgery. Dr. Tu has been the President of the Taiwan Neurosurgical Society, the Taiwan Stroke Society, the Taiwan Society for Skull Base Surgery, the Asian-Oceanian Society for Skull Base Surgery and the Asian-Australasian Society of Neurological Surgery. In 2011 He became President-elect of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies. His 4-year term as President will start in September 2013. Dr. Tu was nominated to be the recipient of the Annual Award of the Formosan Medical association as well as the Orator of Surgery at the 2012 Formosan Medical Association Annual Congress, an honor reserved for a surgeon who has made a major contribution to the country’s surgical practice over his or her career.